Eighth International Days: Water Birds and Wetlands in the EST, Khénifra from 19 to 20 May 2017

Over the past three decades it has become apparent that the multiple efforts to implement sustainable development practices have not slowed down ecosystem degradation and that management remains dominated by the sectoral approach, Their vulnerability. This failure is largely linked to climate change, an environmental and societal issue that has been at the forefront of the global scene for over twenty years. Indeed, while our knowledge of their effects has improved significantly and measures have been designed to mitigate them, these effects have continued to increase.

Mediterranean wetlands, ecosystems that are particularly vulnerable and rich in flora and fauna, have long paid the price of human pressures, particularly of non-integrated management of water resources, where the ecological water needs of these ecosystems are totally neglected. For example, millions of Palaearctic waterbirds passing through this area are frequently subject to food shortages resulting from the loss and modification of wetlands where they meet their energy needs. Most of these species can change their spatial and temporal distribution to adapt to droughts, but the chances of this adaptation are very small in our time. Indeed, current human development patterns, marked by powerful technologies and disproportionate economic ambitions, impose unpredictable and irreversible changes in the resilience mechanisms of ecosystems and their resources.

The 22 nd Session of the Conference of the Parties (COP 22), held on 7-18 November 2016 in Marrakesh, confirmed that the implementation of the Paris Agreement is on track and That cooperation on climate change continues. Considering the role of wetlands as indicators of this change on a global scale, the Higher School of Technology of Khénifra (Moulay Ismail University, Morocco) will host the 8th session of the International Days On Water Birds and Wetlands , co-organized with the GREPOM / BirdLife Morocco and the Scientific Institute of Rabat, in partnership with the High Commission for Water and Forests and the Fight against Desertification And the Tour du Valat (France) and with the support of the Insurance Group of the Superior.

The choice of the city of Khénifra for the organization of this event comes in recognition of the importance of the Beni Mellal-Khénifra Region as a hot spot of biodiversity and as a reservoir of natural resources (forests, areas Wetlands, soils, water resources, etc.)

The purpose of these days is to offer institutions invested in the knowledge or management of North African wetlands an appropriate opportunity to exchange their knowledge and know-how. These exchanges have contributed significantly to stimulate research and improve approaches to sustainable management of North African wetlands. In their eighth edition, these days aim to contribute to the development of research related to the effects of climate change on North African wetlands; But they also offer an opportunity to strengthen an ambitious program of environmental research and training launched by the ESTK under the University of Moulay Ismail Meknes; Which is an individual program in Morocco as a pilot initiative to integrate the management of natural environments into university training.

Themes of the day

  • Impact of climate change on wetlands
  • Ecology and Biology of Wetland Flora and Fauna
  • Operation, ecosystem services of wetlands
  • Integrated Water Resources Management and Wetland Conservation

Communications / posters

  • Communications must be unpublished and concise.
  • The languages of communication are French, English and Arabic.
  • Each communication will last 15 minutes (talk: 10 mn, discussion: 5 mn
  • Poster sizes should not exceed 0,90 m / 1,2 m.

Proceedings of the Days

Communications ( 8 A4 pages maximum, submitted when registering special volume of a periodical ; They will have to respect the model of presentation that will be proposed in the second circular. Abstracts of posters may also be included in the Acts.

Field trip

A half-day excursion will be organized to discover a wet area of the Central Middle Atlas. It will be supervised by several scientists who have a good knowledge of the region.

Registration fees

The registration fees of the participants are 600.00 Dhs (professionals) and 300 Dhs for students; They include access to the program, proceedings of the congress, lunches and coffee breaks.

steering committee

Lahcen Chillasse, Director of EST Khénifra, Moulay Ismail University;

Mohamed Fekhaoui, Director of the Scientific Institute, Mohamed V University of Rabat;

Mohamed Dakki, President of the Research Group for the Protection of Birds Morocco;

Hayat Mesbah & Zouhair Amhaouch, High Commission for Water and Forests and the Fight against Desertification, Rabat;

Bayed Abdelatif, Scientific Institute, Mohamed V University of Rabat ;

Jean Jalbert, General Manager of the Tour du Valat, France;

El Hassan Abba, Lahcen ElYoussfi, Adil Aghzar, Sanaa Cherroud & Sidi Imad Cherkaoui, Inane Tarik IS Khénifra;

Oumia Himmi & Asmaa Ouassou, GREPOM;

Nacer Eddine Zine, Faculty of Science Meknes.

Scientific Committee

Alaoui Mhamedi, Faculty of Science, Fez;

Abdelkrim Sibachir, Treasurer ANAO, University of Batna 2, Algeria;

Abdelatif Bayed, Mohamed Ibn Tattou & Abdeljebbar Qninba, Scientific Institute, Rabat;

RhimouEl Hamoumi, Faculty of Science Ben Messik, Casablanca;

Lahcen Chillasse, East Khénifra;

Khadija Bourass, Mohamed Dakki, Mohamed Aziz El Agbani & Oumnia Himmi, GREPOM;

Mohammed Znari, Slimani Tahar & Mohamed Radi, Faculty of Sciences Semlalia, Marrakech;

Moussa Houhamdi, University of Guelma, Algeria;

Nacer Eddine Zine & Abdelkader Chahlaoui, Faculty of Science, Meknes;

Patrick Grillas & Jocelyn Champagnon, Tour du Valat, France;

Said Hajib, Center for Forest Research, Rabat;

Soumaya Hammada, FST Beni-Mellal;

Majida El Alami, Nard Bennas, Boutaina Belqat, Soumiafahd & KaoutarKettani, Fac. Science, Tetouan

Said Lahrouz, Inspector Training Center, Rabat

Michel Thévenot, Ornithologist, France;

JIOEZH-8_-ESTK-2017_Circul-1.-avant-18-mars-1

 

Partager :

Huitièmes Journées Internationales : Oiseaux d’Eau et Zones Humides à L’EST, Khénifra du19 au 20 mai 2017

Durant les trois dernières décennies, il est apparu que les multiples efforts déployés pour instaurer des pratiques de développement durable n’ont pas ralenti la dégradation des écosystèmes et que la gestion de ceux-ci reste dominée par l’approche sectorielle, qui ne considère guère leur vulnérabilité. Cet échec est en grande partie lié aux changements climatiques, enjeu environnemental et sociétal qui occupe depuis plus de vingt ans le devant de la scène à l’échelle mondiale. En effet, si notre connaissance de leurs effets s’est nettement améliorée et des mesures ont été conçues pour leur atténuation, ces effets ont continué de s’amplifier.

Les zones humides méditerranéennes, écosystèmes particulièrement vulnérables et riches en faune et flore, payent depuis longtemps le prix des pressions humaines, notamment d’une gestion non intégrée des ressources en eau, où les besoins hydriques écologiques de ces écosystèmes sont totalement négligés. C’est ainsi que des millions d’oiseaux d’eau paléarctiques qui transitent par cette région sont fréquemment sujets à des disettes, conséquentes aux pertes et modifications des zones humides où ils satisfont leurs besoins énergétiques. La plupart de ces espèces peuvent modifier leur répartition spatio-temporelle pour s’adapter aux sécheresses, mais les chances de cette adaptation sont très réduites de notre temps. En effet, les modes de développement humains actuels, marqués par des technologies puissantes et des ambitions économiques démesurées, imposent des modifications imprévisibles et irréversibles des mécanismes de résilience des écosystèmes et de leurs ressources.

La 22ème session de la Conférence des Parties (COP 22), tenue les 7-18 novembre 2016 à Marrakech, a confirmé que la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de Paris est sur la bonne voie et que la coopération autour du changement climatique se poursuit. Considérant le rôle des zones humides comme indicateurs de ce changement à l’échelle globale, l’École Supérieure de Technologie de Khénifra (Université Moulay Ismail, Maroc) accueillera la 8ièmesession des Journées Internationales sur les Oiseaux d’Eau et les Zones Humides, co-organisées avec le GREPOM/BirdLife Maroc et l’Institut Scientifique de Rabat ,en partenariat avec le Haut-Commissariat aux Eaux et Forêts et à la Lutte contre la Désertification et la Tour du Valat (France) et avec l’appui du Groupement d’Assurance du Supérieur.

Le choix de la ville de Khénifra pour l’organisation de cet événement vient en reconnaissance de l’importance de la Région de Béni Mellal-Khénifra en tant que ‘Point-chaud’ de la biodiversité et que réservoir de ressources naturelles (forêts, zones humides, sols, ressources en eau, etc.)

Ces journées sont pour objet d’offrir aux institutions investies dans la connaissance ou la gestion des zones humides nord-africaines une occasion adéquate pour échanger leur savoir et savoir-faire. Lesquels échanges ont amplement contribué à stimuler la recherche et à améliorer les approches en gestion durable des zones humides nord-africaines. Dans leur huitième édition, ces journées visent de contribuer à la mise au point sur la recherche en relation avec les effets des changements climatiques sur les zones humides nord-africaines ; mais elles offrent aussi l’occasion pour renforcer un programme ambitieux de recherche et de formation en environnement lancé par l’ESTK relevant de  l’Université de Moulay Ismail Meknès ; lequel programme s’individualise au Maroc comme initiative pilote d’intégration de la gestion des milieux naturels à la formation universitaire.

 

Thèmes des journées

  • Impact des changements climatiques sur les zones humides
  • Ecologie et Biologie de la flore et de la faune des zones humides
  • Fonctionnement, services écosystémiques des zones humides
  • Gestion intégrée des ressources en eau et conservation des zones humides

Communications/posters

  • Les communications doivent être inédites et concises.
  • Les langues de communication sont le français, l’anglais et l’arabe.
  • Chaque communication durera 15 minutes (exposé : 10 mn, discussion : 5 mn
  • Les dimensions des posters ne doivent pas dépasser 0,90 m /1,2 m.

Actes des Journées

Les communications (8 pages A4 au maximum, déposées lors de l’inscription aux journées) seront publiées dans un volume spécial d’un périodique ; elles devront respecter le modèle de présentation qui sera proposé dans la deuxième circulaire. Des résumés de posters pourront également être inclus dans les Actes.

Excursion de terrain

Une excursion d’une demi-journée sera organisée pour découvrir une zone humide du Moyen Atlas central. Elle sera encadrée par plusieurs scientifiques qui ont une bonne connaissance de la région.

Frais d’inscription

Les frais d’inscription des participants sont de 600,00 Dhs (professionnels) et de 300 Dhs pour étudiants ; ils incluent l’accès au programme, les actes du congrès, les déjeuners et les pauses café.

Comité d’organisation

Lahcen Chillasse, Directeur de l’EST Khénifra, Université Moulay Ismail ;

Mohamed Fekhaoui, Directeur de l’Institut Scientifique, Université Mohamed V de Rabat ;

Mohamed Dakki, Président du Groupe de Recherche pour la Protection des Oiseaux Maroc ;

Hayat Mesbah &ZouhairAmhaouch, Haut-Commissariat aux Eaux et Forêt et la Lutte Contre la Désertification, Rabat ;

Bayed Abdelatif, Institut Scientifique, Université Mohamed V de Rabat ;

Jean Jalbert, Directeur général de la Tour du Valat, France ;

El Hassan Abba, Lahcen ElYoussfi, Adil Aghzar, Sanaa Cherroud& Sidi Imad Cherkaoui, Inane Tarik EST Khénifra ;

Oumnia Himmi & Asmaa Ouassou, GREPOM;

Nacer Eddine Zine, Faculté des Sciences Meknès.

Comité Scientifique

Alaoui Mhamedi, Faculté des Sciences, Fès ;

Abdelkrim Sibachir, Trésorier ANAO, Université de Batna 2, Algérie ;

Abdelatif Bayed, Mohamed Ibn Tattou & Abdeljebbar Qninba, Institut Scientifique, Rabat ;

RhimouEl Hamoumi, Faculté des Sciences Ben Messik, Casablanca ;

Lahcen Chillasse, EST Khénifra ;

Khadija Bourass, Mohamed Dakki, Mohamed Aziz El Agbani & Oumnia Himmi, GREPOM ;

Mohammed Znari,  Slimani Tahar &Mohamed Radi, Faculté des Sciences Semlalia, Marrakech ;

Moussa Houhamdi, Université de Guelma, Algérie ;

Nacer Eddine Zine& Abdelkader Chahlaoui, Faculté des Sciences, Meknès ;

Patrick Grillas & Jocelyn Champagnon, Tour du Valat,France ;

SaidHajib, Centre de Recherche Forestière, Rabat ;

Soumaya Hammada, FST Beni-Mellal ;

Majida El Alami, Nard Bennas, Boutaina Belqat, Soumiafahd &KaoutarKettani, Fac. Sciences, Tétouan

SaidLahrouz, Centre de Formation des Inspecteurs, Rabat

MichelThévenot, Ornithologue, France ;

JIOEZH-8_-ESTK-2017_Circul-1.-avant-18-mars-1

 

Partager :